Volunteer Update: Lydia Dena Walker, our new British Sign Language Interpreter

Lydia

Lydia Dena Walker

British Sign Language Interpreter

Course: Ba (Hons) British Sign Language

My name is Lydia Walker. I’m studying British Sign Language Interpreting at Uclan and shall be going into my 3rd and final year in September. My interest in British Sign Language started when I was 19. I got a new job in a school where I became friends with a lady who is deaf. She taught me new signs every day, but I wanted to learn more about the language. I then went onto complete Level 1 and Level 2 in BSL at White Cross College in Lancaster before starting at Uclan in 2012. My aim is to become a fully qualified interpreter of English/British Sign Language. In my spare time I enjoy running and I am signed up to take part in The Great North Run in July.

Leave a Reply

